8 MAINTENANCE GROUP



MISSION

The 8 Maintenance Group provides sustained peacetime and wartime on and off-equipment maintenance for two combat-ready F-16C/D fighter squadrons. The group supports daily flying and maintenance operations, intermediate level maintenance, component repair and maintenance training for an annual flying hour program consisting of 9000+ hours and 10,000+ flying hours. The Group consists of three squadrons with more than 1,100 personnel from 28 specialties, a \$1.2 Billion munitions stockpile, and an annual budget of more than 433 million. Health of the F-16 fleet is accomplished through data analysis, preventive maintenance actions, quality assurance activities, weapons/maintenance training, and management of more than 100 facilities.

LINEAGE

8 Maintenance and Supply Group established, 10 Aug 1948 Activated, 18 Aug 1948 Inactivated, 1 Oct 1957 Disestablished, 27 Sep 1984 Reestablished and redesignated 8 Logistics Group, 1 Feb 1992 Activated, 3 Feb 1992 Redesignated 8 Maintenance Group, 8 Aug 2002

STATIONS

Ashiya Airfield, Japan , 18 Aug 1948 Itazuke Airfield, Japan, 25 Mar 1949 Pyongyang, North Korea, 1 Dec 1950 Seoul Aerodrome, South Korea, 1 Dec 1950 Itazuke AB, Japan, 10 Dec 1950 Kimpo AB, South Korea, 25 Jun 1951 Suwon AB, South Korea, 24 Aug 1951 Itazuke AB, Japan, 19 Oct 1954 - 1 Oct 1957 Kunsan AB, South Korea, 3 Feb 1992

ASSIGNMENTS

8 Fighter Wing, (later 8 Fighter-Bomber Wing) 18 Aug 1948 - 1 Oct 1957 8 Fighter Wing, 3 Feb 1992

COMMANDERS

Lt Col Billy K. Stewart, 3 Feb 1992 Col Marvin O. Clark, 31 Jul 1992 Col Sharla J. Cook, 12 Jul 1993 Col Charles F. Holsen, Jul 1994 Col James J. Ray, 24 Jul 1995 Col Gary R. Sandiford, 22 Jul 1996 Col Dana T. Tompkins, 24 Jun 1997 Col Nettie L. Crawford, 16 Jun 1998 Col Louise A. Eckhart, 15 Jun 1999 Col Georgeannee Ficklin, 13 Jun 2000 Col Michael C. Gardiner, 9 May 2001 Col Timothy D. Blair, 11 Jun 2001 Col Gary C. Bryson, 2 Jul 2002 Col Frederick C. Jones, 15 Jul 2003 Col Brian D. Tri, 12 Jul 2004 Col James T. Silva, 18 May 2005 Col Joseph A. Swillum, 26 Jun 2006 Lt Col John Morley, 18 Jun 2007 Col Michael Kucej, 2 Jul 2007 Col Harry A. Truhn, 25 Jun 2008 Col Randy A. Mauldin, 22 Jun 2009 Col Ronald E. Jolly Sr., 29 Jun 2010 Col Dane P. West, 14 Jun 2011 Col Ray Lindsay, 15 Jun 2012 Col Michael Morreale, 7 Jun 2013 Col Matt Sanford, 5 Jun 2014 Col Jeoffrey Sloan, 5 Jun 2015 Col James E. Long, 30 Jun 2016

HONORS Service Streamers

Campaign Streamers

CCF Intervention CCF Spring Offensive UN Summer-Fall Offensive 1951 Second Korean Winter Korea, Summer-Fall 1952 Third Korean Winter Korea, Summer 1953

Armed Forces Expeditionary Streamers

None

Decorations

Air Force Outstanding Unit Awards 1 Aug 1995 - 31 Jul 1997 1 Oct 2003 - 30 Sep 2005 1 Oct 2005 - 30 Sep 2007 1 Nov 2009 - 31 Oct 2011

Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citations 27 Jun 1950 - 31 Jan 1951 1 Feb 1951 - 31 Mar 1953

EMBLEM



Group uses the 8 Fighter Wing emblem with the group designation in the scroll.

MOTTO World Class Troops

OPERATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE UNIT HISTORIES Created: 16 Nov 2010 Updated:

Sources Air Force Historical Research Agency. U.S. Air Force. Maxwell AFB, AL.